The History of The Gamekeeper’s Taverne is a full-bodied, half-century chronicle of Chagrin Valley legacy. It began as Crane’s Canary Cottage in 1927, became a ladies’ tea room following WWII, was later transformed into The Artist’s Palate restaurant and finally became The Gamekeeper’s Taverne in 1976.
The story begins in 1927 when Arthur Crane, the candy maker who created the Life Saver (and the father of noted early 20th century poet Hart Crane), purchased two Chagrin Falls cottages (circa 1861) and joined them with a 10,000 square-foot addition. The newly created building became famous as Crane’s Canary Cottage, a restaurant that drew such luminaries of the times as Duncan Hines, Will Rogers, Charles Lindbergh, and Cleveland industrialist John D. Rockefeller and his son.
Arthur Crane died in 1932 and Mrs. Crane remarried; she and her new husband continued to operate the Cottage and he pursued his hobby of collecting antiques from around the world. Parts of that collection can be seen today in both the restaurant and the adjacent Inn of Chagrin Falls. Crane’s Canary Cottage was forced to close at the beginning of WWII, the victim of gas rationing.
Gamekeeper’s Taverne is nestled in the heart of the Chagrin River Valley and reflects the local character in both its cozy, fireside dining and its award-winning courtyard where diners may enjoy the sun, moon and stars. Year after year, Cleveland Magazine and Northern Ohio Live have awarded Gamekeeper’s Taverne the “Best Outdoor Dining Experience” as voted by their readers. After almost a century-and-a-half the buildings have changed, but the facility still exudes the same warmth and hospitality that brought the Rogers, Lindberghs and Rockefellers here more than 50 years ago. We trust you will enjoy our dining tradition.
– Tom Lutz